Current Supporters


We call on the Prime Minister to tackle inequality by commencing section 1 of the Equality Act

The Prime Minister has promised to tackle social injustice and make ours a country that works not for a privileged few but for every one of us.

The government has a powerful tool at its disposal: the socio-economic duty that forms the very first section of the Equality Act 2010. The duty requires strategic decision making by public bodies to:

‘have due regard to the desirability of exercising them in a way that is designed to reduce the inequalities of outcome which result from socio-economic disadvantage.’

Passed by Parliament in 2010, this duty has yet to be brought into force.

Commencing section 1 of the Equality Act will support transparency and evidence-based public policy. It will help the UK move towards ensuring an adequate standard of living for all, levelling the playing field between people from different socio-economic backgrounds.

As organisations and individuals committed to building a better society for all, we call on the Prime Minister to commence section 1 of the Equality Act.

  1. Just Fair
  2. Dr Wanda Wyporska, Executive Director, The Equality Trust
  3. Amnesty International UK
  4. Women’s Budget Group
  5. Omar Khan, Director, Runnymede Trust
  6. Andrew Copson, CEO, British Humanist Association
  8. Judith Moran, Director, Quaker Social Action
  9. Reverend Paul Nicolson, Founder, Taxpayers Against Poverty
  10. Professor Kate Pickett, University of York
  11. Professor Richard Wilkinson, University of Nottingham
  12. Dr Angela Donkin, Institute of Health Equity
  13. Professor Mike Savage, London School of Economics
  14. Jackie Longworth, Chair, Fair Play South West
  15. Tracey Lazard, CEO, Inclusion London
  16. Barry McDonald, Chair, Bromley Experts by Experience
  17. Andrew Lee, Director, People First (Self Advocacy)
  18. Joanne Munn, CEO, Greenwich Association for Disabled People
  19. Zeenat Jeewa, CEO, Asian People’s Disability Alliance
  20. Bill Phillips, Chair, Harrow Association of Disabled People
  21. David Stock, CEO, Southwark Disablement Association
  22. Salli Booth, Chair, Disabled People; 14% of Haringey (The 14%)
  23. Joyce Kallevik, Director, Wish
  24. Lucy Byrne, Chief Executive, Richmond Aid
  25. David Strong, Disability Advice Service Lambeth
  26. Odette Battarel, South East London Vision
  27. Roz Hardie, Director, Lewisham Disability Coalition
  28. Lisa Ehlers, CEO, Kingston Centre for Independent Living
  29. Linda Burnip, co-founder, Disabled People Against Cuts
  30. Caroline Collier, CEO, Inclusion Barnet
  31. Professor Paul Hunt, Human Rights Centre, University of Essex, UN Special Rapporteur on the Right to Health 2002-2008
  32. Professor Imti Choonara, University of Nottingham
  33. Professor David Gordon, University of Bristol
  34. Professor John Wright, Bradford Institute for Health Research
  35. Professor Helen Roberts, UCL Great Ormond Street Institute of Child Health
  36. Dr Philippa Bird, Bradford Institute for Health Research
  37. Professor Peter Dwyer, University of York
  38. Dr Anna Pearce, UCL Great Ormond Street Institute of Child Health
  39. Professor John Frank, Scottish Collaboration for Public Health Research and Policy, University of Edinburgh
  40. Professor David Taylor-Robinson, University of Liverpool
  41. Professor Nick Spencer, Emeritus Professor of Child Health, University of Warwick
  42. Emeritus Professor Alan Maynard, Department of Health Sciences, University of York
  43. Professor Tim Doran, Professor of Health Policy, University of York
  44. Professor Becky Tunstall, Professor Emerita of Housing, University of York
  45. Dr Alice Donald, Middlesex University
  46. Dr Elspeth Webb, Honorary Professor of Child Health, Cardiff University
  47. Professor Lorna McGregor, Human Rights Centre, University of Essex
  48. Rev Dr Richard Frazer, Convener of the Church of Scotland’s Church & Society Council
  49. Professor Sir John Hills, Richard Titmuss Professor of Social Policy, London School of Economics and Political Science
  50. Professor Nicola Lacey FBA CBE, School Professor of Law, Gender and Social Policy, London School of Economics and Political Science
  51. Anne Kildunne, University of York
  52. Professor Matt Matravers, Director, Morrell Centre for Toleration, University of York
  53. Professor Colin Tyler, Professor of Social and Political Thought, University of Hull
  54. Women’s Resource Centre
  55. Christine Jackson, Lecturer in Nursing, University of Hull
  56. Lizzie Ette, Lecturer in Nursing, University of Hull
  57. Dr Anjula Gupta, Consultant Clinical Psychologist/Clinical Tutor, University of Hull
  58. Lizzie Barmes, Professor of Labour Law at Queen May University of London, Co-director of QMUL School of Law’s Centre for Research on Law, Equality and Diversity (LEAD)
  59. Baroness Glenys Thornton, CEO, The Young Foundation 
  60. Equality and Diversity Forum (29 members, 32 associates and 14 observers)
  61. Child Poverty Action Group
  62. Race on the Agenda
  63. Nourish Scotland
  64. Michael Wayne, Professor in Screen Media Brunel University
  65. Deirdre O’Neill, Inside Film
  66. Britain Has Class
  67. Professor Thomas Scharf, Professor of Social Gerontology, Institute of Health & Society, Newcastle University

To show your support for this campaign please email us at